lingua

Montallegro

Montallegro
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Originally, Montallegro was a small village called Angiò, built on a hill to protect the people against the pirate raids that, until the 17th Century, were very frequent. But of the old village, only a few ruins remain, since it was abandoned around the end of 1700 for overpopulation and hygiene problems. The inhabitants moved down to the valley after reclaiming the area, and today, the new town has 2,500 residents. There are not many things to see in the territory of Montallegro, but it is a town rich with culture, history and traditions, and the few places to visit they are all definitely suggestive; the tour can start with a visit to the churches: the Church of Santa Maria della Catena, characterised by the clock tower, and the Church of San Leonardo, the patron of the town, which is celebrated every year by the citizens on 6 November. Not to be missed is the excursion to Monte Suso, the hill where the village was originally built in the 16th Century. An itinerary that will allow the visitors to appreciate the surrounding nature and the breathtaking view on the Mediterranean Sea. A truly unique sight!

 

© 2015 - Distretto Turistico delle Miniere
CCIAA Caltanissetta Via Vittorio Emanuele, 38

Progetto Cofinanziato dall’Unione Europea
Programma Operativo FESR – Fondo Europeo di Sviluppo Regionale Sicilia 2007/2013 Asse 3
Obiettivo Operativo 3.3.3 – Linea di Intervento 3.3.3 A, Attività C
“Investiamo nel vostro futuro”

Loading...