Milena has been established as a separate municipality rather recently, but, as a conurbation, is the result of the merging of the hamlets of Milocca di Sutera and San Biagio di Campofranco. Initially called Littoria Nissena during the first period of Fascism, it took the current name of Milena in 1933. From a history based on cereal farming, it has recently moved to the fruit and vegetable sector. The agricultural vocation is testified by Leonardo Sciascia, who, in his book “Occhio di capra” calls the peasants “Milucchisi”, and the citizens of Racalmuto “Salinari”, due to their mining activities. Its “robbe”, the farming civilisation (Milena boasts the title of capital city of such activity), the presence of some sites of interest in the area, reported in the Petix Archaeological Museum, make it a new destination for tourists.